Panel Members

Conrad Fernandez

Dr. Conrad Fernandez is a Professor and past Head of the division of pediatric hematology/oncology in the Department of Pediatrics, IWK Health Centre, Dalhousie University. He is cross-appointed in the Department of Bioethics. He is a Senior Scientist in the Beatrice Hunter Cancer Research Institute. He was vice-Chair of the Children's Oncology Group (COG) Bioethics committee and in this capacity has participated as a lead or member in a variety of position papers on return of results, assent to participation in research, drug shortages and the ethics of correlative studies. He is the founding co-Chair (and remains a current member) of the COG Return of Research Results committee that is charged with coordinating the return of lay summaries to participants (and to the public) of completed COG clinical trials.

His experience includes serving as a member and Chair of the Dalhousie University Health Science Research Ethics Board from 1999 to 2004, and then subsequently the IWK Health Centre Research Ethics Board from 2006 to 2010. He is currently serving on two PRE subcommittees – the Research Participant Education Subcommittee and the Material Incidental Findings Sub-committee.

He has had an active ethics research program funded by CIHR, Terry Fox Research Institute and Genome Canada in the return of research results to participants. He is past chair of the Ethics Node of the national molecular sequencing study (PROFYLE) that characterizes high risk pediatric cancers with a view to understanding their biology and identifying targeted therapies. 

He has just stepped down as chair of the COG renal tumors steering committee that oversees the conduct of clinical trials in childhood kidney cancer. In this capacity he led the development, conduct, and reporting of renal cancer research in the COG, which serves more than 230 institutions in Canada, the U.S., Australia, New Zealand, and parts of Europe. He will remain an Emeritus member of the COG to support this disease committee’s activity.

Date modified:

Membres du Groupe

Conrad Fernandez

Le Dr Conrad Fernandez est professeur et ancien chef de la Division d’hématologie-oncologie pédiatrique, Département de pédiatrie, Centre de santé IWK, Université Dalhousie. Il est nommé conjointement au Département de bioéthique. Il est chercheur principal à l’Institut de recherche sur le cancer Beatrice-Hunter. Ancien vice-président du comité de bioéthique du Children’s Oncology Group (COG), le Dr Fernandez a, à ce titre, dirigé la rédaction ou participé à la rédaction de divers énoncés de principe sur l’accès aux résultats, l’assentiment à la participation à la recherche, les pénuries de médicaments et l’éthique des études corrélatives. Il est coprésident fondateur (et toujours membre) du comité sur l’accès aux résultats de recherche du COG, qui est chargé de coordonner la communication aux participants (et au public) de résumés vulgarisés des essais cliniques achevés du COG.

Le Dr Fernandez a été membre et président du comité d’éthique de la recherche en sciences de la santé de l’Université Dalhousie de 1999 à 2004, puis du comité d’éthique de la recherche du Centre de santé IWK de 2006 à 2010. Il est aujourd’hui membre de deux sous-comités du GER : le sous-comité sur l’éducation des participants à la recherche et le sous-comité sur les découvertes fortuites significatives.

Le Dr Fernandez a mené un programme de recherche sur l’éthique financé par les IRSC, l’Institut de recherche Terry-Fox et Génome Canada, portant sur l’accès des participants aux résultats de recherche. Il a présidé l’axe Éthique de l’étude nationale sur le séquençage moléculaire (PROFYLE), qui caractérise les cancers pédiatriques à haut risque afin de comprendre leur biologie et de trouver des traitements ciblés.

Le Dr Fernandez vient de démissionner du poste de président du comité directeur du COG sur les tumeurs rénales qui supervise la conduite d’essais cliniques sur le cancer du rein chez l’enfant. À ce titre, il a dirigé la planification, la réalisation et la publication de recherches sur le cancer rénal au sein du COG, au service de plus de 230 établissements au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Australie, en Nouvelle-Zélande et en Europe. Il demeure membre émérite du COG pour soutenir les activités de ce comité.

Date de modification :