Roles and Responsibilities

1. What are the responsibilities of researchers according to TCPS 2?

Researchers have a responsibility "to ensure that research involving humans meets high scientific and ethical standards that respect and protect the participants" (Chapter 1, Ethics Framework, Importance of Research and Research Ethics). This responsibility does not end when a study receives REB approval but continues for the entire lifecycle of the research. For research participants, researchers are the front line representatives of research ethics and have primary responsibility for implementing the core principles of TCPS 2: Respect for Persons, Concern for Welfare and Justice.

Researchers affiliated with an institution eligible to administer Agency funds are expected to be knowledgeable about TCPS 2 guidance relevant to their research, and to apply this guidance to the design and conduct of their research. Researchers should ensure that all team members under their supervision are trained to conduct ethically acceptable research in accordance with TCPS 2 (Application of Article 6.14). They should also be aware of their professional and other institutional responsibilities, as well as their legal obligations in the conduct of their research.

2. What responsibility does the researcher have in sharing the results of research with research participants? New

The TCPS recognizes the importance of sharing the results of the research with participants, and states that “informing participants of the research results is as important as dissemination of results to the research community.” (Preamble of Article 4.8). Researchers are strongly encouraged to offer to participants an accessible summary of research results, unless it is impracticable to do so, e.g. when participants or their authorized third party may be deceased, or difficult to track due to insufficient identifiers, cost, or time elapsed. Research ethics boards (REBs) are also strongly encouraged to ask researchers to include in their initial application their plan to share the research results with participants, and to report on its implementation in their final report to the REB.

In general, there are benefits to sharing at least a summary of the research results with participants. Disseminating the results of research may contribute to building participants’ and society’s trust in research. Sharing a summary of the results also respects participants who volunteered their time, effort and information to research, and acknowledges their contribution and assumption of risk. There may be a benefit to the participants of knowing a summary of results, even if there is uncertainty that the results may apply to them. For example, sharing a summary of a study that finds that 60% of participants in a trial of radiation for a disease develop another disease or condition is useful for participants to know, so they recognize the value of following up regularly with their physician. A summary of results may also afford the researcher an additional opportunity to inform participants of the potential benefits of the research, and its probable impact on the participants’ and others’ wellbeing. In doing so, researchers adhere to the core principles of Respect for Persons, and Concern for Welfare.

The format of sharing the results should respect the core principle of Justice in treating participants equitably. The Policy states that the “[R]esults of the research should be made available to them [participants] in a culturally appropriate and meaningful format, such as reports in plain language in addition to technical reports” (Application of Article 4.8). A number of options and formats exist for the researcher to provide copies or access to publications or lay summaries to the participants. For example, the researcher may consider providing the summary results directly back to the participants, indicate a website to which the participants may go to retrieve results, or provide face-to-face results directly or in a group setting. Where possible and appropriate, a permanent record, paper or electronic, is preferred such that participants can reference these reports in the future.

In some contexts, researchers may wish, or may have a duty, to share the individual research results with participants (see incidental findings addressed in Article 3.4). In addition, key guidance on disseminating research results to Indigenous communities can be found in Articles 9.11, 9.17 and 9.22. In some areas of research, such as genetics, the ramifications of research results go beyond the individual participant to involve others with whom the individual shares genetic ancestry. For this type of research, researchers should be guided by the provisions relevant to sharing research results with and beyond participants– see Article 13.2 and other guidance in Chapter 13.

3. What process should institutions and REBs follow when a concern arises with respect to a possible breach of TCPS 2? New

For ease of reading, the response to this question has been broken down into sections.

  1. Introduction

    Most researchers conduct their research with human participants responsibly and in accordance with the Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct of Research Involving Humans (TCPS 2).

    A failure to respect the guidance in TCPS 2 may constitute a breach of the Tri-Agency Framework: Responsible Conduct of Research (“RCR Framework”). When a concern arises that a researcher may have breached a provision of TCPS 2, institutions and their REBs must work together to ensure both due process and consideration of participant welfare.

    This interpretation seeks to clarify the distinct, but sometimes overlapping roles of institutions and their Research Ethics Boards (REBs), when responding to such concerns.

  2.  What are the main responsibilities of institutions and Research Ethics Boards (REBs) when addressing allegations that a researcher may have breached TCPS 2?

    Section 4 of the RCR Framework indicates that the Institution is responsible for conducting an inquiry or investigation into allegations of breach of the RCR Framework. This includes allegations of breach of TCPS 2. It is the Institution’s designated point of contact for RCR matters (“RCR Contact”) or their delegate that takes the lead in coordinating the inquiry and/or investigation.

    In the event that the inquiry or investigation confirms that a breach of TCPS 2 has occurred, the Institution is also responsible for: a) ensuring that measures for rectifying or mitigating the breach are carried out, b) imposing a recourse, if warranted, against those who were found to have committed a breach, and c) reporting to the Agencies, through the Secretariat, when Agency funds are involved.

    At the same time, Article 6.3 of TCPS 2 gives REBs the authority and responsibility to approve, reject, propose modifications to, or terminate any research involving humans at the Institution. This responsibility is essential to safeguarding participant welfare.

    Good communication between REBs, REB administrators, and RCR contacts is essential in order to ensure that the inquiry and, if necessary, the investigation are carried out smoothly and that research participants are protected throughout.

    • B.1 Research Ethics Board (REB)

      The REB’s specific responsibilities may vary according to the nature of the allegation. They may include:

      • informing the RCR contact of the concern as soon as possible, if the REB is the first to become aware of the concern;
      • collaborating with the RCR inquiry/investigation process by:
        • providing any relevant documents to the RCR Contact, or his/her delegate, upon request;
        • responding to questions posed by the RCR contact or his/her delegates; and/or
        • providing advice on matters such as how to interpret TCPS2 and appropriate measures for participant protection.

      To avoid the perception of conflict of interest, REB members and Chairs should not sit on investigation committees for allegations relating to research that they or their Board had a role in approving.

      If the research is still active, the REB should decide independently, based on the information available to it through communication with the RCR contact, whether to suspend its approval of the research, or allow the research to continue, while the Institution’s inquiry or investigation is underway and after it has been completed. The decision will depend on the nature of the allegation and whether the alleged breach has the potential to affect the safety of participants.

    • B.2 Institution

      As part of its responsibility to conduct an inquiry or investigation, the Institution must appoint an individual or committee, depending on circumstances, to gather evidence, interview affected parties, determine the facts of the matter, and make a determination as to whether a breach of TCPS 2 occurred.

      If the process confirms that TCPS 2 was breached, the Institution must determine actions to be taken in response. Examples of such actions may include, but are not limited to:

      • taking disciplinary action against those who committed the breach;
      • ensuring that measures to correct the research record are taken;
      • requiring those who committed the breach, and possibly other parties at the Institution, to take further training in research ethics and RCR;
      • determining how to manage the data that was collected while the researcher was in breach of TCPS 2; and/or
      • taking measures to minimize or mitigate harm to research participants.

      The Institution should work closely with the REB to obtain all evidence relevant to its investigation.

      It should provide the REB with any information that the REB may require to fulfil its mandate under Article 6.3 of TCPS 2.

      In addition, the Institution should seek the REB’s advice when it makes decisions about matters for which the REB has expertise, for example, measures to mitigate harm to participants.

  3. Do REBs have the authority to take actions against a researcher personally?

    The REB’s authority is with respect to the research itself, not the researcher. While an REB h as the authority to suspend or terminate approval of a research project, actions such as requiring a researcher to seek additional training in research ethics, or requiring the researcher to destroy research data, are the Institution’s responsibility.

  4. Are there any TCPS 2 compliance situations that REBs may address directly, without referring the matter to the Institution’s RCR contact for an inquiry or investigation?

    It may be possible for an REB to address certain concerns with TCPS 2 compliance, for example, an overdue annual report. REBs and institutions should discuss these situations on a case-by-case basis before determining how to proceed or, if they occur frequently, establish written policies and procedures to address the most common situations.

  5. What information about RCR matters should institutions share with REBs?

    Institutions have the responsibility and the discretion to determine what information may be shared about an RCR matter and with whom. The Institution’s decision may depend on a number of factors including, but not limited to, provincial legislation, institutional policies, and the provisions of collective agreements.

Date modified:

Rôles et responsabilités

1. Quelles sont les responsabilités des chercheurs selon l'EPTC 2?

Les chercheurs ont le devoir de « veiller à ce que la recherche avec des êtres humains se conforme à des normes scientifiques et éthiques rigoureuses qui respectent et protègent les participants » (chapitre 1, Le cadre éthique, Importance de la recherche et de l'éthique de la recherche). Cette responsabilité ne s'arrête pas une fois l'étude approuvée par un CER, mais reste pertinente pendant toute la durée de la recherche. Pour les participants à la recherche, les chercheurs sont les premiers garants de l'éthique de la recherche, et il leur incombe au premier chef d'appliquer les principes directeurs de l'EPTC 2 : le respect des personnes, la préoccupation pour le bien-être et la justice.

Les chercheurs affiliés à un établissement admissible à administrer des fonds des Organismes doivent connaître les lignes directrices de l'EPTC 2 qui s'appliquent à leurs travaux de recherche et les respecter dans la conception et la conduite de leur recherche. Les chercheurs doivent aussi veiller à ce que tous les membres de l'équipe relevant d'eux soient formés afin de pouvoir mener des recherches éthiques conformément à l'EPTC 2 (application de l'article 6.14). Ils doivent aussi être conscients de leurs responsabilités professionnelles et institutionnelles ainsi que de leurs obligations légales dans la conduite de leur recherche.

2. Quelle est la responsabilité du chercheur quant à la communication des résultats de la recherche à ceux qui y ont participé? Nouveau

L’importance de communiquer les résultats de la recherche aux participants est reconnue par l’EPTC, qui stipule « Il est aussi important d’informer les participants des résultats de la recherche que de diffuser les résultats à la communauté de la recherche » (préambule de l’article 4.8). Les chercheurs sont fortement encouragés à fournir aux participants un résumé vulgarisé des résultats de leurs projets, à moins que cela ne soit pratiquement impossible (p. ex. lorsque les participants ou leur tiers autorisé sont probablement décédés ou qu’ils sont difficiles à retrouver en raison du manque de renseignements identificateurs, du coût trop élevé, ou du temps écoulé). Les comités d’éthique de la recherche (CER) sont aussi fortement encouragés à demander aux chercheurs de joindre à leur demande initiale un plan de diffusion des résultats aux participants, et à inclure un bilan de la mise en œuvre du plan dans leur rapport final.

En général, il est avantageux de transmettre au moins un résumé des résultats de la recherche aux participants. La diffusion des résultats peut contribuer à accroître la confiance des participants et de la société en la recherche. La transmission d’un résumé des résultats est aussi un geste de respect envers les participants qui ont mis leur temps, leurs efforts et leur information au service de la recherche. C’est aussi une reconnaissance de leur contribution et des risques assumés. Il peut être avantageux pour les participants de recevoir un résumé des résultats, même s’il n’est pas garanti que ces résultats s’appliquent à eux. Par exemple, les résultats d’une étude ayant révélé que 60 % des participants à un essai sur l’irradiation comme traitement contre une certaine maladie développent une autre maladie constituent une information utile qui sensibilisera les participants à l’importance de leur suivi médical régulier. La transmission d’un résumé peut aussi être une occasion additionnelle d’informer les participants sur les bienfaits potentiels de la recherche et ses impacts probables sur leur bien-être et celui des autres. En procédant ainsi, les chercheurs adhèrent aux principes directeurs de respect des personnes et de préoccupation pour le bien‑être.

Les résultats devraient être diffusés dans un format qui respecte le principe directeur de justice, par le traitement équitable des participants. La politique stipule que « les résultats de la recherche devraient leur [aux participants] être accessibles dans un format adapté et utile, comme sous la forme de rapports vulgarisés en plus des rapports techniques » (application de l’article 4.8). Plusieurs options s’offrent aux chercheurs pour fournir des copies d’articles publiés ou des résumés vulgarisés aux participants, ou pour leur y donner accès. Par exemple, le chercheur peut envisager d’envoyer un résumé vulgarisé directement aux participants, de leur indiquer un site Web où ils peuvent récupérer les résultats, ou encore de leur fournir les résultats en personne directement ou lors d’une rencontre de groupe. Lorsque cela est possible et pertinent, il est préférable de fournir aux participants un exemplaire permanent (en format papier ou électronique) qu’ils pourront consulter ultérieurement.

Tout dépendant du contexte, la communication des résultats de la recherche aux participants peut être laissée à la discrétion du chercheur ou constituer un devoir (voir l’article 3.4 au sujet des découvertes fortuites). De plus, d’autres lignes directrices essentielles sur la diffusion des résultats de la recherche aux communautés autochtones figurent aux articles 9.11, 9.17 et 9.22. Dans certains domaines de recherche, comme la génétique, les résultats de la recherche ne concernent pas seulement le participant, mais aussi toutes les personnes qui partagent son patrimoine génétique. Pour ce genre de recherche, les chercheurs devraient suivre les dispositions concernant la communication des résultats de la recherche aux participants et autres intéressés — voir l’article 13.2 et les autres conseils contenus dans le chapitre 13.

3. Quel processus les établissements et les CER devraient-ils suivre lorsqu’ils s’inquiètent d’une possible violation de l’EPTC 2? Nouveau

Pour en faciliter la lecture, la réponse à cette question a été divisée en plusieurs sections.

  1. Introduction

    Règle générale, les recherches avec des participants humains sont menées de façon responsable et conformément à l’Énoncé de politique des trois conseils : Éthique de la recherche avec des êtres humains (EPTC 2).

    Le non-respect de l’EPTC 2 peut constituer une violation du Cadre de référence des trois organismes sur la conduite responsable de la recherche (Cadre sur la CRR). Lorsqu’ils craignent qu’un chercheur puisse avoir commis une violation d’une disposition de l’EPTC 2, les établissements et leurs comités d’éthique de la recherche (CER) doivent travailler ensemble pour s’assurer à la fois de suivre la procédure établie et de tenir compte du bien-être des participants.

    Cette interprétation vise à clarifier les rôles distincts, mais parfois entremêlés, des établissements et de leurs CER lorsqu’ils doivent donner suite à de telles craintes.

  2. Quelles sont les principales responsabilités des établissements et des CER lorsqu’ils donnent suite à des allégations de violation de l’EPTC 2?

    En vertu de la section 4 du Cadre sur la CRR, les établissements sont responsables d’effectuer une enquête ou une investigation concernant les allégations de violation du Cadre, ce qui inclut les allégations de violation de l’EPTC 2. C’est la personne-ressource désignée de l’établissement pour les questions de CRR ou son délégué qui se charge de coordonner l’enquête ou l’investigation. 

    Si l’enquête ou l’investigation confirme une violation de l’EPTC 2, l’établissement est aussi responsable : a) de s’assurer que des mesures sont prises pour rectifier la situation ou en atténuer l’impact; b) d’exercer un recours, s’il y a lieu, contre les personnes reconnues responsables de la violation; c) de prévenir les organismes, par le biais du Secrétariat, s’ils ont contribué au financement des travaux de recherche.

    Parallèlement, l’article 6.3 de l’EPTC 2 confie aux CER le pouvoir et la responsabilité d’approuver, de refuser ou d’arrêter des recherches avec des êtres humains à leur établissement, ou encore de proposer les modifications à y apporter. Cette responsabilité est essentielle à la protection du bien-être des participants.

    Une bonne communication entre les CER, les administrateurs des CER et les personnes-ressources pour la CRR est essentielle afin de garantir le bon déroulement de l’enquête et, au besoin, de l’investigation et d’assurer la protection des participants à la recherche durant tout le processus.

    • B.1 Comité d’éthique de la recherche (CER)

      Les responsabilités particulières des CER peuvent varier selon la nature des allégations. Elles peuvent inclure :

      • porter les préoccupations éthiques à l’attention de la personne-ressource pour la CRR dès que possible, si le CER est le premier à en avoir été informé;
      • collaborer au processus d’enquête/d’investigation sur la CRR, c’est‑à‑dire :
        • fournir, sur demande, tout document utile à la personne-ressource pour la CRR ou son délégué;
        • répondre aux questions posées par la personne-ressource pour la CRR ou son délégué;
        • fournir des avis sur différentes questions, notamment l’interprétation de l’EPTC 2 et la manière appropriée de protéger les participants.

      Pour éviter toute apparence de conflit d’intérêts, les membres et les présidents des CER ayant contribué à faire approuver des recherches visées par des allégations ne devraient pas siéger aux comités chargés d’investiguer ces allégations.

      Si les travaux sont en cours, le CER devrait décider par lui-même, en fonction de l’information mise à sa disposition par la personne-ressource pour la CRR, de suspendre son approbation des travaux ou d’autoriser leur poursuite pendant que l’enquête ou l’investigation de l’établissement suit son cours et après sa conclusion. Cette décision dépend de la nature de l’allégation et de la menace qu’elle représente pour la sécurité des participants.

    • B.2 Établissement

      À titre de responsable de l’enquête ou de l’investigation, l’établissement doit nommer une personne ou un comité, selon les circonstances, qui aura pour rôle d’amasser des preuves, d’interroger les parties concernées, d’établir les faits et de déterminer s’il y a eu effectivement violation de l’EPTC 2.

      Si le processus aboutit à la confirmation d’une violation de l’EPTC 2, l’établissement doit déterminer les mesures à prendre. Voici quelques exemples :

      • prendre des mesures contre les responsables de la violation;
      • s’assurer de faire corriger le dossier de recherche;
      • obliger les responsables de la violation, et peut-être d’autres membres de l’établissement, à parfaire leur formation en éthique de la recherche et en CRR;
      • déterminer comment gérer les données recueillies par l’équipe de recherche tandis qu’elle contrevenait à l’EPTC 2;
      • prendre des mesures pour réduire ou atténuer les préjudices causés aux participants à la recherche.

      L’établissement devrait collaborer étroitement avec le CER pour obtenir toutes les preuves utiles à l’investigation.

      Il devrait fournir au CER toute information dont il pourrait avoir besoin pour remplir son mandat en vertu de l’article 6.3 de l’EPTC 2.

      De plus, l’établissement devrait consulter le CER lorsqu’il prend des décisions au sujet desquelles le CER possède de l’expertise; par exemple, dans la détermination des mesures à prendre pour atténuer les préjudices causés aux participants.

  3. Les CER ont-ils le pouvoir de prendre des mesures contre un chercheur individuel?

    Le pouvoir des CER se limite à la recherche comme telle, et ne s’étend pas aux chercheurs. Un CER a le pouvoir de suspendre ou de révoquer l’approbation d’un projet de recherche, mais c’est l’établissement qui est responsable de prendre des mesures envers un chercheur, comme l’obliger à parfaire sa formation en éthique de la recherche ou à détruire les données tirées de sa recherche.

  4. Certains cas de non-conformité à l’EPTC 2 peuvent-ils être résolus directement par les CER, sans qu’il soit nécessaire d’en faire part à la personne-ressource pour la CRR afin de faire ouvrir une enquête ou une investigation?

    Certains cas de non-conformité à l’EPTC 2 peuvent être résolus au niveau des CER, comme un rapport annuel en retard. Les CER et les établissements devraient discuter de ces situations au cas par cas avant de déterminer comment procéder ou, si elles sont fréquentes, rédiger des politiques et des procédures couvrant les situations les plus courantes.

  5. Quelle information les établissements devraient-ils transmettre aux CER concernant les questions relatives à la CRR?

    Les établissements ont la responsabilité et le pouvoir discrétionnaire de déterminer quelle information peut être communiquée concernant une question relative à la CRR, et avec qui. La décision d’un établissement peut dépendre d’un certain nombre de facteurs, y compris la législation provinciale, les politiques internes de l’établissement, les dispositions des conventions collectives et d’autres.

Date de modification :