Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Panel Members

Dr. Gordon Robinson

Dr. Robinson is a member on the Oncology REB at Princess Margaret Hospital. As a cancer survivor, he is currently successfully enrolled in a study and has also been a participant in more than ten others, some of a business or social science nature. He has presented the position of the Study Participant at national and regional conferences and will be particularly interested in that viewpoint with PRE.

Dr. Robinson received an engineering degree from Queen’s University and also became a naval officer. His Cornell doctorate in organic chemistry was followed by work in molecular biology with a Nobel Laureate in medicine. His further studies centred on business, law, finance and security regulations and, he was a commercial panelist with the American Arbitration Association. He worked at Chalk River with the Canadian Atomic Energy in isotope production operations and then at Mobil Oil’s think-tank specializing on catalysis before moving to Mobil’s Corporate Development office in New York City to work on research commercialization and acquisitions. Subsequently, he joined a new merchant bank focused on emerging technologies.

His move to Houston, Texas, was the beginning of a  20-year term as a principal in developing and promoting start-ups and working with troubled companies -- troubles often of a financial nature, but also environmental, management or ownership succession concerns.  He continued this aspect of his career after relocating to Toronto.

Dr. Robinson has served on a number of municipal and not-for-profit boards and is a founder of the US-SW UNICEF Board. Married for over 40 years, he is the father of three and grandfather of five.  He has been active in many sports and continues a lifelong interest in wood working.

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Membres du Groupe

Gordon Robinson

Gordon Barclay Robinson, Ph. D., est membre du CÉR chargé d’examiner les recherches en oncologie à l’hôpital Princess Margaret. Il participe actuellement à une étude à titre de survivant du cancer, et il a dans le passé participé à une dizaine d’autres recherches, entre autres dans les domaines des affaires et des sciences de la nature. Il apporte la perspective du participant à la recherche au sein du Groupe sur la conduite responsable de la recherche, comme il l’a fait lors de diverses conférences nationales et régionales.

M. Robinson, qui est officier de marine, a obtenu un diplôme en génie à l’Université Queen’s et un doctorat en chimie organique à l’Université Cornell. Il a ensuite travaillé en biologie moléculaire auprès d’un lauréat du prix Nobel en médecine, avant d’entreprendre de nouvelles études dans les domaines de la gestion, du droit, des finances et de la réglementation de la sécurité. Il a été arbitre en matière commerciale sous l’égide de l’Association américaine d’arbitrage. Il a travaillé dans l’industrie nucléaire canadienne – à la production d’isotopes à Chalk River. Pour le compte de la pétrolière Mobil, il a été membre du groupe de réflexion sur la catalyse, puis il est passé au bureau new-yorkais de l’entreprise œuvrant dans la commercialisation de la recherche et les acquisitions. Il a été à l’emploi d’une banque d’investissement spécialisée dans les technologies émergentes.

Puis pendant 20 ans, après s’être installé à Houston (Texas), il s’est consacré au développement et à la promotion de nouvelles entreprises, et à l’aide aux entreprises connaissant des difficultés – souvent sur le plan financier mais aussi en matière d’environnement, de gestion ou de succession. Il a continué sur cette voie après avoir déménagé à Toronto.

M. Robinson a été membre du conseil d’administration de divers organismes municipaux et sans but lucratif, et il est un des fondateurs d’un organe régional d’UNICEF. Marié depuis plus de 40 ans, il a trois enfants et cinq petits-enfants. Il a pratiqué de nombreux sports et continue d’entretenir la passion qu’il a toujours vouée au travail du bois.