Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Panel Members

Édith Deleury

Édith Deleury, Chair of the Commission de l’éthique de la science et de la technologie du Québec (CETS) since 2004 and a lawyer by education, has been interested for many years in the relationships between science, ethics and law. Today she is an emeritus professor and still associated with Université Laval’s Faculty of Law. Édith Deleury has been involved in the work of many organizations such as the Law Reform Commission of Canada, Quebec’s Ministry of Justice and Canada’s Department of Justice, Quebec’s Ministry of Health and Social Services, the Conseil du statut de la femme, the Conseil de la santé et du bien-être, the Conseil de la science et de la technologie, the Office of the Health and Welfare Commissioner. In 2005, as part of the Canadian delegation, she was involved in the work of the Committee of Intergovernmental Experts that preceded the passing of the International Declaration on Bioethics and Human Rights.

She is the author of many scholarly articles and has contributed to the writing of a number of composite works. In partnership with Dominique Goubau, she published Le droit des personnes physiques, which is considered the standard on the topic. She has sat on a number of peer review panels within SSHRC (general grants, strategic grants, and learned journals) and has received a number of awards for her contribution to research, including: an Honorary Prize from the Law Reform Commission of Canada and the Canadian Association of Law Teachers (1991); an Award of Merit from the Barreau du Québec for her outstanding contribution to the reform of the Civil Code (1993); the Woman of Merit award from the YWCA (education category, 2001); and most recently, the Barreau du Québec medal (2008).

She is also a member of the standing committee on human rightsof the Barreau du Québec and has sat on several ethics committees (Hôpital Ste-Justine in Montreal, Maison Michel Sarrazin in Quebec). She currently chairs the University Research Ethics Committee of Université Laval and the Ethics Committee of Hôpital St-François d’Assise (CHUQ).

From 1981 to 1985, she performed the duties of vice-dean of teaching with Université Laval’s Faculty of Law and, from 1989 to 1991, those of vice-dean of research. For several years, she directed the journal Les Cahiers de droit, as well as the Canadian Journal of Women and the Law. She was a member of the executive board of the Canadian Journal of Law & Society for a number of years and the science committee of the collection Droit, biotechnologie et société by Éditions Thémis. She is a member of the board of directors of the Presses de l’Université Laval, which she chaired for nearly 10 years.

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Membres du Groupe

Édith Deleury

Présidente de la Commission de l’éthique de la science et de la technologie du Québec (CETS) depuis 2004, et juriste de formation, Édith Deleury s’intéresse depuis de nombreuses années aux rapports entre la science, l’éthique et le droit. Aujourd’hui professeure émérite et toujours associée à la faculté de droit de l’Université Laval, Édith Deleury a participé aux travaux de nombreux organismes tels que la Commission de réforme du droit du Canada, les ministères de la Justice du Québec et du Canada, le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec, le Conseil du statut de la femme, le Conseil de la santé et du bien-être, le Conseil de la science et de la technologie, le Commissaire à la Santé et au Bien-être. Au cours de l’année 2005 elle a participé, au sein de la délégation canadienne, aux travaux du Comité d’experts intergouvernementaux qui ont précédé l’adoption de la Déclaration internationale sur la bioéthique et les droits de l’Homme.

Auteure de nombreux articles de doctrine, elle a contribué également à la rédaction de plusieurs ouvrages, collectifs, et elle a publié, en collaboration avec Dominique Goubau., Le droit des personnes physiques, considéré comme l’ouvrage de référence en la matière. Elle a siégé sur plusieurs comités de pairs au sein du CRSH (subventions ordinaires ; subventions stratégiques : revues savantes) et reçu plusieurs prix pour sa contribution à la recherche[ Prix d’honneur de La Commission de réforme du droit du Canada et de l’Association canadienne des professeurs de droit (1991), Mérite du Barreau du Québec pour une contribution exceptionnelle à la réforme du Code civil (1993), Prix «Femme de mérite» du YWCA, (catégorie éducation, 2001) et, plus récemment, la médaille du Barreau du Québec (2008)].

Elle est aussi membre du comité permanent du droit des personnes du Barreau du Québec et a siégé sur plusieurs comités d’éthique (Hôpital Ste-Justine à Montréal, Maison Michel Sarrazin à Québec). Elle préside, actuellement, le Comité universitaire d’éthique de la recherche de l’Université Laval et le Comité d’éthique de l’Hôpital St-François d’Assise (CHUQ).

De 1981 à 1985, elle a exercé les fonctions de Vice-doyenne à l’enseignement à la Faculté de droit de l’université Laval et de 1989 à 1991, celles de Vice-doyenne à la recherche. Elle a dirigé pendant plusieurs années la revue Les Cahiers de droit, ainsi que la revue canadienne La Femme et le droit. Membre du bureau de direction de la Revue canadienne Droit et Société pendant plusieurs années et du comité scientifique de la Collection Droit, biotechnologie et société des Éditions Thémis, elle est membre du Conseil d’administration des Presses de l’Université Laval qu’elle a présidé pendant près de 10 ans .