Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Panel Members

Brent Windwick

Brent Windwick is a senior partner with the Alberta and Northwest Territories law firm Field LLP. He has a Master of Laws Degree from Cambridge University and was appointed Queen’s Counsel in 2006. He is an Adjunct Assistant Professor in the Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry and the Faculty of Pharmacy at the University of Alberta, where he has taught health law, policy and ethics to students of medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, nursing, rehabilitation medicine, and law since 1983.

From 2000-2003, he was Executive Director of the Health Law Institute at the University of Alberta, where he participated in regional and national health law reform initiatives, prepared policy and legal briefing papers for national and international organizations, organized and co-chaired the first national academic health law conference held in Canada, and edited the Health Law Journal and Health Law Review. He has provided legal and strategic advice to health care organizations and professionals since 1985, through his private law practice and through secondments to major health care organizations, with a practice exclusively restricted to health law for the past 20 years.

He has been Chair of the Legal and Regulatory Advisory Committee of the Canadian Patient Safety Institute (2005-2011); Chair of the Disclosure Working Group of CPSI and co-author of Canadian Disclosure Guidelines (2008) and Canadian Disclosure Guidelines: Being Open With Patients and Families (2011); member of the Privacy Advisory Committee for the Canadian Institutes for Health Research (2003-2005); member of the Alberta Cancer Research Ethics Committee and its predecessor research ethics Boards (2001-present); and Chair of the National Health Law Section of the Canadian Bar Association (2000-2001).

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Membres du Groupe

Brent Windwick

Brent Windwick est un associé au sein du cabinet juridique Field, de l’Alberta et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Il détient une maîtrise en droit de l’Université de Cambridge et il a été nommé conseil de la reine en 2006. Il est professeur adjoint auxiliaire à la Faculté de médecine et de dentisterie et à la Faculté de pharmacie de l’Université de l’Alberta, où il a enseigné le droit, les politiques et l’éthique de la santé à des étudiants en médecine, dentisterie, pharmacie, soins infirmiers, médecine de réadaptation et droit depuis 1983.

De 2000 à 2003, il a été directeur exécutif de l’Institut du droit de la santé à l’Université de l’Alberta, ou il a participé à des initiatives régionales et nationales de réforme du droit de la santé, préparé des documents d’information sur les politiques et des questions juridiques pour des organisations nationales et internationales, organisé et coprésidé la première conférence nationale sur le droit de la santé tenue au Canada, et dirigé la rédaction du Health Law Journal et de la Health Law Review. Il a prodigué des conseils juridiques et stratégiques à des organisations et des professionnels de la santé depuis 1985, dans le cadre de sa pratique privée du droit et d’affectations auprès de grandes organisations de soins de santé. Depuis 20 ans, il se consacre exclusivement au droit de la santé.

Il a été président du Comité consultatif des affaires juridiques et réglementaires de l’Institut canadien pour la sécurité des patients (ICSP) (2005-2011); président du Groupe de travail sur la divulgation de l’ICSP; coauteur des Lignes directrices nationales relatives à la divulgation (2008) et de Lignes directrices nationales relatives à la divulgation : parler ouvertement aux patients et aux proches (2011); membre du comité consultatif des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada sur la protection de la vie privée (2003-2005); membre du Comité d’éthique de la recherche sur le cancer en Alberta et de comités d’éthique de la recherche qui l’ont précédé (2001 à aujourd’hui); et président de la Section nationale du droit de la santé de l’Association du Barreau canadien (2000-2001).