Government of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Past Interpretations of the TCPS

Subject Reasonably Designed Inclusion and Exclusion Criteria and Applicable Human Rights Legislation
Keywords inclusion, exclusion, competence, representation, participation, research, consent, law, discriminatory, benefits, burdens, human rights, justice
TCPS Articles 1.3, 2.5, 5.1, 5.3
Date January 2003

PDFReasonably Designed Inclusion and Exclusion Criteria and Applicable Human Rights Legislation Jan 2003.pdf

1. Thank you for your correspondence in which you requested clarification of the Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans (TCPS) of 1998 (with 2000, 2002 amendments) position on (a) the rules of inclusion in research and (b) application of the human rights laws to research conducted at universities. You ask:

  1. Is the (automatic) exclusion of the prospective research subjects based on mental disability, or diagnosis per se, consistent with the TCPS?
  2. Does the TCPS require that the university research comply with the existing human rights legislation?
2. Your questions have been referred to the Interagency Advisory Panel on Research Ethics (PRE) for advice1.

Reasonable Inclusion and Exclusion Criteria

3. Section 5 of the TCPS addresses inclusion in research. Articles 5.1 and 5.3 state:

Article 5.1: Where research is designed to survey a number of living research subjects because of their involvement in generic activities .that are not specific to particular identifiable groups, researchers shall not exclude ... research subjects on the basis of such attributes as culture, religion, race, mental or physical disability, sexual orientation .unless there is a valid reason for doing so.

Article 5.3: Subject to the provisions in Articles 2.6 to 2.8, those who are not competent to consent for themselves shall not be automatically excluded from research which is potentially beneficial to them as individuals, or to the group that they represent.

4. Articles 5.1 and 5.3 are inspired by distributive justice norms regarding the fair distribution of benefits and burdens of research.2 The societal commitment to justice in the specific context of participants involved in human research means that particular groups should neither be unjustly denied access to the potential benefits, nor bear a disproportionate burden of the research. Distributive justice norms in the TCPS thus impose a general duty on researchers and Research Ethics Boards (REBs) not to act in a discriminatory manner in the inclusion or exclusion of participants in research projects. Attention to distributive justice should help in the design of reasonable inclusion and exclusion criteria for research protocols.

5 . Benefits: Reasonably designed inclusion and exclusion criteria will thus affect access to potential benefits and the distribution of burdens. Read together, articles 5.1 and 5.3 indicate that if the research project is intended to study phenomena or processes that are not specific to any particular groups of population, then the study should likely include a breadth of groups, in the expectation that the knowledge derived may benefit diverse populations. The inclusion in research of participants representative of the general population should normally be respected, unless there is a valid reason for not doing so. Moreover, to further the purposes underlying the general TCPS preference of inclusion, those claiming a valid reason for excluding particular groups from research would bear the onus of persuading the REB of its validity.3 What qualifies as a "valid reason" for exclusion will depend on the research in question and the general context it is conducted in, as well as--on objective grounds--the scientific validity and reasonableness of the inclusion and exclusion criteria for a research protocol.

6. Burdens: Distributive justice norms further indicate that reasonable inclusion and exclusion criteria avoid unduly burdening or exploiting groups, such as those who lack the competency to consent for themselves. The concern is also expressed through the informed consent provisions of section 2 of the TCPS. Article 2.5 outlines conditions that should be met for those who are incompetent to participate in research.The commentaries to the article express (i) "the general requirement to restrict research involving incompetent subjects to questions that can not be addressed with competent subjects," and (ii) "the general moral preference for involving competent rather than incompetent research subjects, and the need to avoid selecting prospective subjects merely because of convenience." The commentary reflects a protective concern about potential exploitation.

7. Overall, then, distributive justice norms in the TCPS should help the research community to design reasonable and scientifically grounded inclusion and exclusion criteria that strike a just balance for those participating in human research.

8. Based on the foregoing, an automatic exclusion of the prospective research subjects based on mental disability, or diagnosis per se, is not consistent with the TCPS. Such an exclusion would have to be justified by the "valid" reasons recognized as such in the ethics review process.

Human Rights Laws

9. While it is beyond our mandate to provide legal advice, your question about the application of human rights laws to REB decisions implicates at least three provisions of the TCPS. First, it implicates the guiding ethical principles outlined in section C of the "Context of an Ethics Framework"4 for the TCPS. Modern human rights laws have been enacted to further some of the guiding ethical principles embraced in the TCPS Ethics Framework. These include respect for human dignity and vulnerable persons, as well as the commitment to justice.

10. Secondly, section C of the TCPS Ethics Framework also discusses the important relationship between law and ethics.5 Reasonable and responsible research must respect the law. In general, reasonable research protocols thus need to adhere to both applicable legal and ethics norms. Whether a particular law applies to an institution, to the REB or to a particular protocol, are precisely the kinds of legal issues that fall within the deliberations of a duly composed REB. Thirdly, then, TCPS article 1.3 and its supporting commentary outline the norm for including in the membership of REBs those with legal knowledge. Legal expertise on the REB is intended to help the REB to identify legal issues and requirements, such as the relevance, applicability and implications of federal or provincial human rights laws. In some instances, the REB's identification of legal issues will necessitate further scrutiny and formal legal advice from competent local legal counsel to the institution.

We hope that you will find these thoughts helpful to your human research ethics deliberations.

Sincerely,

Secretariat on Research Ethics
on behalf of
The Interagency Advisory Panel on Research Ethics
pre.ethics.gc.ca


  1. PRE provides advice on such interpretation questions to assist the research ethics community in applying the TCPS to the ethical issues it faces. While responses to TCPS interpretation questions may address ethical dimensions of legal issues in research ethics, PRE does not provide legal advice. Nor does it act as an appeal body on REB or institutional decisions.
  2. See J. Kahn, A. Mastoiainni, and J. Sugarman, Beyond Consent: Seeking Justice in Research (New York: Oxford University Press), 1998.
  3. TCPS, "Context of an Ethics Framework," page i.9.
  4. TCPS, "Context of an Ethics Framework," page i.5.
  5. TCPS, "Context of an Ethics Framework," page i.8.

Gouvernement du Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Interprétations de l'EPTC

Objet Critères raisonnablement élaborés d'inclusion et d'exclusion et lois sur les droits de la personne
Mots clés inclusion, exclusion, compétence, représentation, participation, recherche, consentement, droit, discriminatoire, avantages, fardeau, droits de la personne, justice
Règles de l'EPTC 1.3, 2.5, 5.1, 5.3
Date janvier 2003

PDFCritères raisonnablement élaborés d'inclusion et d'exclusion et lois sur les droits de la personne_janvier 2003

1. Nous vous remercions de votre lettre dans laquelle vous nous demandez des éclaircissements au sujet de la position de l'Énoncé de politique des trois Conseils : Éthique de la recherche avec des êtres humains (EPTC) de 1998 (Avec les modifications de 2000 et 2002) a) sur les règles d'inclusion dans la recherche et b) sur l'application des lois sur les droits de la personne à la recherche effectuée dans les universités. Vos questions sont les suivantes :

  1. Est-ce que l'exclusion (automatique) d'éventuels sujets de recherche fondée sur l'incapacité mentale ou un diagnostic per se est conforme à l'EPTC?
  2. Est-ce que l'EPTC exige que la recherche universitaire soit conforme aux lois de protection des droits de la personne présentement en vigueur?

2. Vos questions ont été référées au Groupe consultatif interagences en éthique de la recherche (GER) pour avis1.

Critères raisonnables d'inclusion et d'exclusion

3. Il est question au chapitre 5 de l'EPTC de l'inclusion dans la recherche. Voici ce qu'énoncent les règles 5.1 et 5.3 :

Règle 5.1 : Lorsque les projets visent à interroger des sujets de recherche vivants en raison de la participation à des activités génériques non reliées à des groupes identifiables particuliers., les chercheurs n'excluront pas, à moins de raisons valides, des sujets actuels ou pressentis pour des motifs liés à leurs culture, religion, race, aptitude mentale ou physique, orientation sexuelle.

Règle 5.3 : Sous réserve des règles 2.6, 2.7 et 2.8, les personnes inaptes à donner leur consentement ne seront pas automatiquement exclues des projets de recherche pouvant leur être bénéfiques, soit à elles, soit au groupe qu'elles représentent.

4. Les règles 5.1 et 5.3 sont inspirées par les normes de la justice distributive au sujet de la répartition équitable des avantages et du fardeau de la recherche.2 L'engagement social de respecter la justice dans le contexte particulier des recherches avec des êtres humains implique que certains groupes ne doivent ni être privés injustement des avantages éventuels de la recherche, ni en porter un fardeau disproportionné. Les normes de la justice distributive contenues dans l'EPTC imposent par conséquent une obligation générale aux chercheurs et aux comités d'éthique de la recherche de ne pas agir de manière discriminatoire dans l'inclusion ou l'exclusion des participants à des projets de recherche. L'attention portée à la justice distributive devrait contribuer à l'élaboration de critères raisonnables d'inclusion et d'exclusion pour les protocoles de recherche.

5. Avantages : Les critères raisonnablement élaborés d'inclusion et d'exclusion auront donc un effet sur la possibilité de bénéficier des avantages éventuels de la recherche et sur la répartition de son fardeau. Ensemble, les règles 5.1 et 5.3 indiquent que, si le projet de recherche vise à étudier des phénomènes ou des processus qui ne sont pas propres à des groupes donnés de population, l'étude devrait inclure une diversité de groupes, puisque les connaissances obtenues pourront faire bénéficier diverses populations. L'inclusion dans la recherche de participants représentatifs de la population en général devrait normalement être respectée, sauf s'il y a un motif valable de ne pas le faire. De plus, pour faire prévaloir les buts sous-jacents de l'EPTC qui favorisent l'inclusion générale, le fardeau de démontrer au CÉR un motif valable d'exclusion de certains groupes est imposé à ceux et celles qui demandent l'exclusion de certains participants.3 Ce qui constitue un « motif valable » d'exclusion dépend de la recherche en question et du contexte général dans lequel elle est menée, de même que, sur un plan objectif, de la valeur scientifique et du caractère raisonnable des critères d'inclusion et d'exclusion pour un protocole de recherche.

6. Fardeau : Les normes de la justice distributive indiquent, de plus, que les critères raisonnables d'inclusion et d'exclusion évitent d'imposer un fardeau ou d'exploiter indûment des groupes, tels que les groupes n'ayant pas la compétence nécessaire de donner leur consentement pour eux-mêmes. Cette réserve est également exprimée aux dispositions sur le consentement éclairé au chapitre 2 de l'EPTC. La règle 2.5 énonce les conditions à remplir par les personnes qui sont incompétentes pour participer à la recherche. Les commentaires suivant cette règle stipulent que: (i) « . l'obligation générale voulant que la recherche avec des sujets inaptes soit limitée aux questions ne pouvant être étudiées avec des sujets aptes »; et (ii) « . une préférence morale pour la participation de personnes aptes plus qu'inaptes, et le besoin d'éviter de sélectionner des sujets pour de simples raisons de commodité. » Ce commentaire reflète le souci d'éviter toute exploitation éventuelle.

7. En somme, les normes de la justice distributive dans l'EPTC devraient aider l'ensemble des chercheurs à élaborer des critères raisonnables et scientifiquement valides d'inclusion et d'exclusion qui établissent un juste équilibre entre les personnes qui participent à un projet de recherche avec des êtres humains.

8. Bref, l'exclusion automatique de sujets pour une recherche prospective en fonction de leur incapacité mentale ou d'un diagnostic en soi, n'est pas conforme à l'EPTC. Une telle exclusion devrait être justifiée par les motifs
« valables » reconnus comme tels dans le processus d'évaluation éthique.

Lois sur les droits de la personne

9. Il n'est pas de notre ressort de donner des avis juridiques, mais votre question au sujet de l'application des lois sur les droits de la personne aux décisions des CÉR entraîne l'application de trois dispositions de l'EPTC. En premier lieu, il faut tenir compte des principes éthiques directeurs mentionnés à la partie C du « Contexte du cadre éthique »4 de l'EPTC. Le droit actuel sur les droits de la personne a été adopté pour faire prévaloir certains principes éthiques directeurs soutenus par le Cadre éthique de l'EPTC. Mentionnons notamment le respect de la dignité humaine et des personnes vulnérables, de même que l'engagement face aux principes de justice.

10. En deuxième lieu, il est question également à la partie C du Cadre éthique de l'EPTC de la relation importante entre le droit et l'éthique.5 La recherche raisonnable et responsable doit respecter le droit. En général, un protocole de recherche raisonnable doit être à la fois conforme aux normes légales et éthiques en vigueur. Déterminer si une loi particulière s'applique à un établissement, au CÉR ou à un protocole donné, relève des délibérations d'un CÉR dûment constitué. En troisième lieu, par conséquent, la règle 1.3 de l'EPTC et les commentaires qui l'accompagnent décrivent la norme pour l'inclusion dans la composition d'un CÉR des personnes ayant des connaissances juridiques. Une expertise juridique au sein d'un CÉR permet de mieux recenser les questions et les exigences d'ordre juridique, comme la pertinence, l'application et les répercussions des lois de protection des droits de la personne au niveau fédéral et provincial. Dans certains cas, l'identification de questions juridiques par le CÉR nécessitera un approfondissement et l'obtention d'un avis juridique formel de la part d'un conseiller juridique local compétent.

Nous espérons que vous trouverez ces réflexions utiles dans vos délibérations sur l'éthique de la recherche avec des êtres humains.

Secrétariat en éthique de la recherche
pour le compte du
Groupe consultatif interagences en éthique de la recherche
ger.ethique.gc.ca


  1. Le GER offre des conseils en matière de questions d'interprétation de l'EPTC, afin d'aider le milieu de l'éthique de la recherche à appliquer l'EPTC aux enjeux éthiques auxquels le milieu fait face. Bien que ses réponses aux questions d'interprétation de l'EPTC peuvent porter sur des aspects éthiques des questions juridiques reliées à l'éthique de la recherche, le GER ne fournit pas d'avis juridiques; il n'agit pas non plus à titre d'organisme d'appel des décisions des CÉR et des établissements.
  2. Voir J. Kahn, A. Mastoiainni et J. Sugarman, Beyond Consent: Seeking Justice in Research (New York: Oxford University Press), 1998.
  3. EPTC, « Contexte du cadre éthique », page i.9.
  4. EPTC, « Contexte du cadre éthique », page i.5.
  5. EPTC, « Contexte du cadre éthique », page i.8.